About Us | Physicians for Human Rights Annual Gala

Our galas honor physicians and activists on the front lines of the struggle for human rights.

Since 2015, PHR has held an annual event to honor health professionals and activists on the front lines of the struggle to defend human rights. It’s an opportunity to collectively share in our successes and to encourage and support the tireless efforts of those who fight for justice and who advocate for human rights, often at their own personal risk.

In 2018, PHR honored Dr. Nagham Nawzat Hasan, a Yazidi doctor and activist, for her extraordinary work treating and supporting survivors of sexual slavery and genocide perpetrated by ISIS against Iraq’s Yazidi minority. The award was presented to her by award-winning actress Julianna Margulies.

Other honorees included three American health professionals who took courageous stands in extraordinary times, resisting government policies that threatened their patients’ health and rights. We honored Mona Hanna-Attisha, MD, MPH, Norma Price, MD, and Alex Wubbels, RN for upholding the ethical standards of their professions in the face of severe  challenges and for putting the needs of their patients first. The awards were presented by PHR Board Member and ACLU Executive Director Anthony D. Romero, JD.

PHR is deeply grateful to our partners, colleagues, and friends who attend the annual galas and who pledge their support to our work protecting human rights around the world.

Additional thanks to the 2018 Gala Co-Chairs, Deborah D. Ascheim, MD, Alan K. Jones, and Kerry J. Sulkowicz, MD, and to the Gala Committee: David Dantzker, MD, Sherrye Dantzker, Raymond P. Happy, Richard Horton, FRCP, Georgia Levenson Keohane, MSc, MBA, Robert S. Lawrence, MD, Ambassador Stephen J. Rapp, JD, and Gerson H. Smoger, JD, PhD.

Missed the gala? You can still donate to Physicians for Human Rights!