Our People | Advisory Council

Formed in 2019, the PHR Advisory Council is a diverse and distinguished group of medical, legal, and scientific leaders from around the world that provides guidance for PHR's work.

Advisory Council

Kerry J Sulkowicz, MD

Chair, PHR Advisory Council; Founder and managing principal of the Boswell Group LLC

Salim S. Abdool Karim, MD, PhD, FRS

Director, Centre for the AIDS Programme of Research, South Africa

Patrick Ball, PhD

Director of Research, Human Rights Data Analysis Group

Christopher Beyrer, MD, MPH

Desmond M. Tutu Professor in Public Health and Human Rights, Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Marine Buissonnière, MPP

Senior Advisor, Resolve to Save Lives

Şebnem Korur Fincancı, MD

President, Human Rights Foundation of Turkey

Mona Hanna-Attisha, MD, MPH, FAAP

Founder and director, Pediatric Public Health Initiative, Michigan State University and Hurley Children’s Hospital

Alastair Hay, PhD, OBE

Professor Emeritus of Environmental Toxicology, University of Leeds

Howard Hu, MD, MPH, ScD

Professor and Flora L. Thorton Chair

Vincent Iacopino, MD, PhD

Adjunct professor of medicine with the University of Minnesota Medical School

Samer Jabbour , MD, MPH

Professor of Public Health Practice, American University of Beirut

Jennifer Leaning, MD, SMH

Senior Research Fellow, FXB Center for Health and Human Rights, Harvard University; Associate Professor of Emergency Medicine, Harvard Medical School; Professor of the Practice of Health and Human Rights, retired, Harvard Chan School of Public Health

Juan E. Méndez, LLB

Professor of Human Rights Law, American University-Washington College of Law, former UN Special Rapporteur on torture and other cruel, inhuman and degrading treatment or punishment

John Kimani Mungai, MSc

Head of Forensic Science Services, Kenyan Government Chemists Department and the Ministry of Interior and Coordination of National Government

Vivienne Nathanson, MD

World Medical Association, the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists, University of Durham School for Health

Monica E. Peek, MD, MPH, MS, FACP

Associate Professor, University of Chicago

Nizam Peerwani, MD

Chief Medical Examiner, Tarrant, Denton, Parker, and Johnson counties, TX; Texas Forensic Science Commission; Scientific Advisory Board, Texas State Fire Marshalls Office

Michael Posner, JD

Director, Center for Business and Human Rights, NYU Stern School of Business

Dainius Pūras, MD

Director of the Human Rights Monitoring Institute, Vilnius; Professor of Child Psychiatry and Public Mental Health at Vilnius University

Gerson H. Smoger, JD, PhD

Principal, Smoger and Associates, PC

Patricia Viseur Sellers, JD

Special Advisor for Gender for the Office of the Prosecutor of the International Criminal Court

Matthew Wynia, MD, MPH

Director, Center for Bioethics and Humanities, University of Colorado

Brigadier General (Ret.) Stephen N. Xenakis, MD

Executive Board Member, Center for Ethics and Rule of Law, University of Pennsylvania Law School