Virtual Gala

A Celebration of Health and Human Rights Heroes

At our annual gala, Physicians for Human Rights recognizes brave medical professionals for their steadfast commitment to advancing human rights around the world.

This year’s event honored health workers upholding human rights both those who have faced attacks and allies in the field who champion their work to expose violations and hold perpetrators accountable.

On May 15, 2022, the Gala Committee, Board of Directors, and Staff presented the distinguished Physicians for Human Rights Award to: 

Robert S. Lawrence, MD, MACP

Founding member, board member emeritus, and past board chair of Physicians for Human Rights; and founding director of the Center for a Livable Future and professor emeritus of the Department of Environmental Health and Engineering at the Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health.

Dawn Wooten, LPN

Licensed Practical Nurse whose commitment to medical ethics led her to speak out and demand justice for immigrant women detained by the U.S. government. Her testimony led to the closure of the Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) facility where she worked and documented medical abuses.

Houssam al-Nahhas, MD, MPH

Middle East and North African (MENA) researcher at Physicians for Human Rights. Prior to joining PHR, al-Nahhas worked on the front lines of health care response to the crisis in Syria, coordinating care, conducting field assessments, and serving as an emergency room physician in a field hospital in eastern Aleppo.

Health Workers in Myanmar

Medical professionals have been working under constant threat from the military regime as they continue to treat their patients and at times join the protests. The threats and attacks against health workers in Myanmar have been ongoing since the military seized power in February 2021.

PHR is grateful to our Sponsors for their generous support.


Marion J. Bergman, MD and Stanley M. Bergman

Dr. Bradley and Mrs. Sharon Connor

Ashley Garrett and Alan Jones


Kathleen M. Foley, MD and Charles T. Foley

Carolyn and Raymond Happy

Kristin Kern and Kelly Huntley Kern

Kirkland & Ellis Foundation

Cynthia and Robert S. Lawrence, MD, MACP

Kristin and Austin Ratner, MD

Gail Saltz, MD and Leonard Saltz, MD

Kerry J. Sulkowicz, MD

Lois Whitman, JD, MSW


Deborah D. Ascheim, MD and Tom Ascheim

The Commonwealth Fund

Sherrye Dantzker and David Dantzker, MD

Debevoise & Plimpton LLP

Roberta and Steven Denning

KT Elghanayan Fund

Kirkland & Ellis Foundation

Gerson H. Smoger, JD, PhD



Debra and Glenn August

Shumeet and Della Banerji

Katie and Paul Buttenwieser, MD

The Corner Foundation

Susan and Francois de Menil

The Diebold Nixdorf Foundation

Kathryn George and William Tyree

Frederic Happy

The Harr Foundation

Judy and Leonard Lauder

William Lauder

Helaine Lerner

Mike Murphy and Peggy Bunker

Etienne Perold, PhD

Chuck Ratner and Ilana Horowitz Ratner

Jim and Susan Ratner

Ronald and Deborah Ratner

Philippe and Kate Villers


Anonymous (2)

Catherine Banat

Eryn and Mike Bingle

Barbara Bridendolph

Sabrina Cherry, MD and Marc Gourevitch MD, MPH

Joshua Davis

Lowell Freiberg and Cathy Taub

Martin Geller and Lauren Schor

Toby Greenberg and Anthony Perricone, JD

Elizabeth and Dean Kehler

Glenna Neece and Marcus Wainwright

The Nussdorf Family at Quality King Distributors

Jackie Ponsky

Jonathan and Meg Ratner Family Foundation

Matthew Ratner

Sarah Ratner Goldstein and Ian Goldstein

Carol and Alan Silberstein

Donna Skerrett, MD, MSc

Stuart Zerner


Joanne Ahola, MD

Anonymous (3)

Karen Bell, MD and James McFarland, MD

Andi and Tom Bernstein

David Bor, MD

Ellen Gibbs

Anne and Paul Grand

Jinsook Lawrence and Wayne Tilton

Tom and Penelope Lawrence

Michael Lenardo, MD

Barry Levy, MD, MHP

Gary and Lisa Matthews

Ranit Mishori, MD, MHS

Deborah and Zack Paris

Rupa Patel, MD

Joan Shafran and Rob Haimes

David Shulkin

Jill and Alfred Sommer, MD

Makenzie Weinman and Jared Finkell, MD

William and Janislee Wiese

Herbert Weltler

Gail Zauder

Board of Directors

Alan Jones Chair

Deborah D. Ascheim, MD, Vice-Chair

David Dantzker, MD Treasurer

Darren Thompson Treasurer

Kathleen M. Foley, MD Secretary

Adrian Arena

Kristin Auerbach

Marion J. Bergman, MD, MPA

Susan M. Blaustein, MMA, DMA

Justice Richard J. Goldstone

Raymond P. Happy

Richard Horton, FRCP, FMedSci

Stephen J. Rapp, JD

Adam Richards, MD, PhD, MPH

Anthony D. Romero, JD

Gail Saltz, MD

Kerry J. Sulkowicz, MD

Lois Whitman, JD, MSW

Gala Committee


Marion J. Bergman, MD, MPA and Stanley M. Bergman

Sharon and Bradley A. Connor, MD

Ashley Garrett and Alan Jones

Carolyn and Raymond P. Happy

Kristin and Austin Ratner, MD

Kerry J. Sulkowicz, MD

Deborah D. Ascheim, MD and Tom Ascheim

Cynthia and Robert S. Lawrence, MD

Gerson H. Smoger, JD, PhD

Get Updates from PHR