ResourcesMultimedia

استهداف الكوادر الطبية في سوريا

This post is also available in: English

غالباً ما يكون العاملون الطبيون في الخطوط الأمامية في حالات الصراع المسلح، يدعمون المدنيين الذين يعانون من العنف والظلم والحرمان. في سياق لعبت فيه مهاجمة المدنيين دور بارز للغاية، تم استهداف العاملين الطبيين لمنعهم من تأدية واجباتهم من خلال الاضطهاد والتعذيب والقتل.

بوصفهم أول المستجيبين، ير العاملون الطبيون عن كثب الجروح والأدلة على العنف والتعذيب لدى مرضاهم ويتم استهدافهم لإسكاتهم كشهود ذوي تأثير من قبل الحكومات القمعية. 

تستخدم منظمة أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان بيانات من مصادر مفتوحة ومصادر ميدانية لتوثيق قتلى الكوادر الطبية في سوريا منذ آذار/مارس 2011. وتقدر المنظمة أن الحكومة السورية وحلفاءها مسؤولون عن 90 بالمئة من هذه الوفيات طوال النزاع. وتقع المسؤولية عن النسبة المتبقية البالغة 10 بالمئة على عاتق الجماعات المسلحة غير الحكومية، مثل تنظيم الدولة الإسلامية (داعش) وعلى  قوات التحالف الدولي أو القوات الكردية أو قوات مجهولة الهوية. ويعد استهداف الكوادر الطبية انتهاكاً للقانون الإنساني الدولي، ويجب محاسبة المسؤولين عنه. فعندما يُقتل العاملون الطبيون، فإن الخسائر الإنسانية ليست حياتهم فحسب، بل أيضاً العدد الهائل من الأشخاص الذين سيعانون بدون علاج والأرواح الكثيرة التي ستضيع نتيجة لذلك.

  • 0

    عاملين طبيين

    قُتل ما لا يقل عن 914 عاملين طبيين في سوريا من عام 2011 حتى نوفمبر 2019.

  • 0

    وفاة الموظفين الطبيين

    وقدرت PHR أن 91 ٪ على الأقل من عمليات القتل للعاملين في المجال الطبي ارتكبت من قبل القوات الحكومية السورية وحلفائهم الروس.

إجمالي وفيات الكوادر الطبية

دأبت الحكومة السورية، منذ بداية النزاع، على الاستهداف المنهجي للمنشآت الطبية والعاملين فيها، ما أسفر عن مقتل أطباء وممرضين وغيرهم أثناء رعايتهم للمرضى والجرحى في المستشفيات والعيادات وفي الميدان. كما جرى اعتقال مهنيين صحيين وإخفاؤهم وسجنهم وتعذيبهم وإعدامهم – غالباً بسبب تمسكهم بالتزامهم المهني بمعالجة جميع المرضى، بغض النظر عن الانتماء السياسي. وقد وثقت أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان وفاة 914 عاملاً في القطاع الطبي منذ بداية النزاع في عام 2011 حتى تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر 2019.

وفيات الكوادر الطبية حسب التاريخ

تميزت بداية النزاع بعمليات قتل واسعة النطاق للمهنيين الطبيين، حيث قتل 190 في عام 2012 وحده. ووقع أكبر عدد من عمليات القتل في السنوات الأربع الأولى، عن طريق القصف المدفعي والغارات الجوية ونيران الأسلحة الصغيرة، وخُطف عاملون طبيون واحتجزوا، وكان ذلك يؤدي غالباً إلى الموت تحت التعذيب أو الإعدام. وفي عام 2015 في حلب، أفيد أن أكثر من 95 بالمئة من أطباء المدينة فروا أو احتُجزوا أو قُتلوا.

ولا يشير الانخفاض في وفيات الكوادر الطبية بعد عام 2015 بالضرورة إلى انخفاض في شدة النزاع، بل السبب على الأرجح هو تراجع عدد المهنيين الطبيين الباقين في البلاد.

تدرك أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان أنها لا تستطيع معرفة جميع الهجمات على الكوادر الطبية، ناهيك عن تأكيدها. ويوضح ذلك أن الحكومة السورية تواصل إصدار قوائم بالمدنيين الذين لقوا حتفهم في السجون السورية، ما يشير إلى أن هناك كثير من المهنيين الطبيين الذين ربما ماتوا في الاحتجاز ولكن لم يعلن عن وفاتهم بعد.

تعني المكاسب الإقليمية لقوات الحكومة السورية منذ ربيع عام 2018 تناقص جبهات القتال وتقليل الهجمات على المنشآت الطبية. ولكن حتى في ظل ديناميات النزاع المتغيرة، لا تزال الكوادر الطبية مستهدفة لأسباب عدة بينها الاعتقاد بأنهم موسرون ويمكن احتجازهم مقابل فدية.

قتلى الكوادر الطبية حسب المحافظة

تمثل حلب وإدلب وريف دمشق المحافظات التي سجلت أعلى معدلات وفاة الكوادر الطبية. وعادة ما يتزامن الارتفاع في عدد الوفيات مع الهجمات الكبيرة ضد هذه المحافظات.

على سبيل المثال، استُهدفت حلب بشكل متواصل بالبراميل المتفجرة بين 2013 و2015. وفي عام 2016، أطلقت الحكومة السورية حملة عسكرية للسيطرة على المدينة، وبحلول 22 كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2016 أعلنت المدينة “محررة”. وانخفض عدد قتلى العاملين الطبيين هناك من 29 في عام 2016 إلى خمسة في عام 2017، إلى واحد فقط في عام 2018.

وبالمثل، فإن قوات الحكومة السورية في ريف دمشق، المحافظة المحيطة بدمشق، في حالة هجوم منذ عام 2013. وفي نيسان/أبريل 2018، استعادت هذه القوات سيطرتها الكاملة على الغوطة الشرقية بعد حملة عسكرية وحشية أسفرت عن مقتل 20 عاملاً طبياً في أقل من أربعة أشهر. ومنذ ذلك الحين، انخفض عدد قتلى العاملين الصحيين.

وفي إدلب، آخر جيب للمتمردين في سوريا، قتل 62 عاملاً طبياً منذ 2012. وزاد العدد زيادة كبيرة بعد 2014، عندما كثفت الحكومة السورية حملتها العسكرية ضد مختلف الجماعات المتمردة التي تسيطر على معظم ريف إدلب.

الأرقام لا تكذب

  • 0

    من 914 ضحية من العاملين في القطاع الطبي الذين قتلوا في الأزمة السورية، كانوا أطباء

  • 0%

    من العاملين في القطاع الصحي قتلوا بهجمات صاروخية أو قذائف

  • 0

    من العاملين في القطاع الطبي قد تم خطفهم أو إعتقالهم، وبالتالي قتلهم

  • 0%

    من حصيلة القتلى وقعت بين 2012 و 2014

وفيات الكوادر الطبية حسب المهنة

يشمل تعريف منظمة أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان “للكوادر الطبية” الأطباء والممرضين والمسعفين والصيادلة وأطباء الأسنان والأطباء البيطريين والفنيين المخبريين وطلاب الصحة المحترفين. ويجب أن يكونوا مدنيين لتضمينهم في مجموعة البيانات الخاصة بنا، لأن العاملين الطبيين المشاركين في القتال يفقدون وضع الحماية بموجب القانون الدولي الإنساني. وكما يوضح هذا الرسم البياني، فإن أكثر المهنيين الطبيين تضرراً هم الأطباء والممرضين، يليهم مباشرة المسعفون. وقد اخترنا تضمين فئات طبية غير تقليدية كالأطباء البيطريين وأطباء الأسنان والطلاب لأننا تلقينا تقارير موثقة تفيد بأن هؤلاء غالباً ما يعالجون المرضى بسبب عدم وجود أطباء وممرضين مرخصين في العديد من المناطق. فقد أرغم النزاع السوري كثيراً من المدنيين غير المدربين وغير المؤهلين على المبادرة وتولي أدوار إنقاذ الحياة. يشير تنوع المهنيين الطبيين القتلى في جميع المجالات إلى التدمير المنهجي للقطاع الطبي واستنزاف المهارات والخدمات الطبية.

أسباب وفاة الكوادر الطبية

إن أكبر أسباب وفيات الكوادر الطبية هو القصف الجوي والقصف المدفعي ونيران الأسلحة الصغيرة. وقد تكون هذه الهجمات متعمدة أو عشوائية، وفي كلتا الحالتين تمثل انتهاكاً للقانون الإنساني الدولي عند استهدافها منشآت طبية. فنتيجة هذه الهجمات الممنهجة، توفي كثير من المهنيين الطبيين أثناء أداء واجبهم. ومات كثيرون غيرهم بعد اعتقالهم ثم تعذيبهم وإعدامهم. ونظراً للقيود المفروضة على الوصول إلى المعلومات ومحدوديتها، من المحتمل أن يكون هذا العدد أكبر وقد يستمر في الازدياد مع تواصل إخبار الأسر بوفاة أحبائها في السجون. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، يوجد كثير من المهنيين الطبيين الذين يُعتقد أنهم أحياء في مرافق الاعتقال. وتشكل هذه الاعتقالات، وكذلك إخفاء مصير من قتلوا، انتهاكات جسيمة لحقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني.

ظروف مستحيلة للعاملين الطبيين في سوريا

العمل في سوريا، بالنسبة للأطباء، هو انتصار الإرادة والعزيمة على ظروف مستحيلة. لقد جرى تعذيبهم وخطفهم وإطلاق النار عليهم وقصفهم. هرب كثيرون بينما بقي آخرون، واضعين حياة مرضاهم قبل حياتهم. يقول الدكتور رامي كلزي، وهو جراح أعصاب عمل في شرق مدينة حلب حتى صيف عام 2016: “كانت العقبات موجودة في كل مكان. قصف شديد في كل مكان، واستهداف مباشر للمرافق الصحية، ونقص كبير في المعدات والإمدادات الطبية، لاسيما أجهزة التشخيص الحديثة، وطلب على سيارات الإسعاف، ونقص كبير في الأدوية، وفجوة هائلة في الخبراء الطبيين، وعدد قليل جداً من وحدات العناية المركزة المجهزة تجهيزاً جيداً، وعدد قليل من الأسرة في وحدات وأجنحة العناية المركزة – إلى جانب العدد الهائل من الضحايا. هل يمكنك تخيل الظروف التي يعمل فيها الأطباء في سوريا؟”

الأطباء في مرمى النيران

في 22 آذار/مارس 2011، دخلت القوات الحكومية مستشفى درعا الوطني، وطردت جميع الموظفين غير الأساسيين، ووضعت قناصة على السطح. بقي القناصة عامين كاملين، وكانوا يطلقون النار على المرضى والجرحى لضمان دخول مؤيدي الحكومة فقط إلى المستشفى. وفي 8 نيسان/أبريل، أطلقت القوات الحكومية النار على ممرض كان يحاول إنقاذ شخص مصاب وقتلته في مدينة درعا. كانت هذه مجرد بداية للحملة الوحشية والمستمرة من الهجمات المتعمدة التي شنتها الحكومة على المرافق والكوادر الطبية كسلاح حرب. اقرأ المزيد.

تعلم الجراحة مع سقوط القنابل

في اعتداء الحكومة السورية المتواصل على قطاع الرعاية الصحية، لم يُضرب أي مكان كما ضربت حلب. حين سقطت المدينة بيد القوات الحكومية في كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2016، كان أكثر من ثلثي المستشفيات خارج الخدمة، وكان قرابة 95 بالمئة من الأطباء قد فروا أو اعتُقلوا أو قُتلوا. وفي ظل هذا النقص الحاد في الكوادر الطبية، كان على الأطباء أن يتعلموا إجراء عمليات جديدة على الفور. كان الدكتور ك، وهو طبيب أسنان لم يتدرب قط في مجال جراحة الوجه والفكين، الطبيب الوحيد الموجود في أحد الأيام لإجراء عملية جراحية لمريض تهشم فكه تماماً برصاص قناص. “كان علي أن أخيط غرزات عميقة في العضلات، وكانت المرة الأولى لي، لذلك تدربت من خلال العمل الفعلي. أنجزت العملية وآمل أن أكون قد قمت بعمل جيد”. اقرأ المزيد.

Timeline

Dec 2011

النزاع السوري يستهدف الرعاية الصحية

تنشر أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان “سوريا: هجمات على الأطباء والمرضى والمستشفيات”، لتبين أن الحكومة . السورية تهاجم المنشآت الطبية وتستهدف الأطباء بسبب قيامهم بعلاج الجرحى المدنيي

Mar 2015

الأطباء في مرمى النيران

.تنشر منظمة أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان تقارير بشأن استخدام الحكومة السورية الهجمات على المرافق الطبية والعاملين فيها بمثابة سلاح حرب. اقرأ المزيد

Nov 2015

أوقفوا الهجمات على الأطباء في سوريا

أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان تنظم اعتصاماً قرب مبنى الأمم المتحدة في نيويورك احتجاجاً على الهجمات على الرعاية الطبية في سوريا

Nov 2015

حلب مهجورة

.يكشف تقرير منظمة أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان أن هجمات الحكومة دمرت الرعاية الصحية في حلب، حيث خرج ثلثا المستشفيات من الخدمة وفر 95 بالمئة من الأطباء أو احتجزوا أو قتلوا. اقرأ المزيد

Mar 2016

لا سلام بدون عدالة في سوريا

.في الذكرى السنوية الخامسة للنزاع في سوريا، يطالب تقرير منظمة أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان بمساءلة الحكومة السورية عن جرائم الحرب والجرائم ضد الإنسانية. اقرأ المزيد

May 2016

تكريم الأطباء السوريين الشجعان

.في احتفالنا السنوي، تكرم أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان الدكتورة لينا والدكتور نور، وهما طبيبان سوريان خاطرا بحياتهما لتوفير الرعاية الطبية في سوريا وتوثيق انتهاكات حقوق الإنسان. اقرأ المزيد

Jul 2016

صورة لمدينة سورية تحت الحصار

يُظهر تقرير أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان الآثار الفادحة للحصار الذي فرضته الحكومة السورية على مضايا لمدة عام، والذي أودى بحياة 86 شخصاً على الأقل بسبب الجوع والمرض والإصابات المسببة للصدمة، وتركت فقط طالبين في طب الأسنان وطبيباً بيطرياً يهتمان بسكان البلدة البالغ عددهم 40000. اقرأ المزيد

Mar 2017

رفض وصول المساعدات

.يبرز تقرير أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان كيف توقف الحكومة السورية عن عمد وبصورة غير قانونية تقديم المساعدات الضرورية لملايين الأشخاص في المناطق المحاصرة والتي يصعب الوصول إليها في البلاد. اقرأ المزيد

Apr 2017

هجوم مميت بالأسلحة الكيماوية

.الصحفية في سي إن إن كريستيان أمانبور تقابل أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان بعد أن حدد خبراؤنا هجوماً محتملاً بالأسلحة الكيميائية على بلدة خان شيخون أسفر عن مقتل قرابة 100 شخص، كثير منهم أطفال

Mar 2018

ما وراء الخيال: سبع سنوات من النزاع في سوريا

.مع فقدان قرابة نصف مليون شخص وتعطيل النظام الصحي في سوريا، تجدد منظمة أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان دعوتها إلى وضع حد للهجمات المتواصلة على المدنيين والأهداف المدنية. اقرأ المزيد

خاتمة

بعد ثماني سنوات من الموت والدمار، بدأت آليات النزاع السوري في التحول مع استعادة الحكومة السورية للأراضي. لغاية كانون الأول/ديسمبر 2018، كان قرابة 12 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء سوريا يحتاجون إلى المساعدة الصحية. ولا يزال كثير من المرافق الصحية التي تضررت من النزاع غير عاملة. ويزيد هروب عدد كبير من المهنيين الصحيين أو موتهم أو استمرار احتجازهم تعطيل نظام الرعاية الصحية في سوريا. يجب أن تبدأ معالجة أثر استهداف الرعاية الصحية بالعدالة والمساءلة عن هذه الانتهاكات الموثقة لحقوق الإنسان والقانون الإنساني الدولي. ويجب تحقيق العدالة للعاملين الطبيين الذين جرى استهدافهم وقتلهم بسبب التزامهم بواجبهم المدني والأخلاقي ولأولئك الذين ما زالوا رهن الاحتجاز أو الذين فروا من سوريا وما زالوا خائفين للغاية من الانتقام إذا عادوا إلى ديارهم وبلادهم. 

منهجية أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان في جمع البيانات عن الاعتداءات على الكوادر الطبية

استخدمت أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان بيانات من مصادر مفتوحة ومصادر ميدانية لتوثيق قتل الكوادر الطبية في سوريا منذ آذار/مارس 2011. واعتمدت أساساً على الموقع الالكتروني لمركز توثيق الانتهاكات في سوريا باللغة الإنكليزية ومواقع وسائل الإعلام ووسائل التواصل الاجتماعي، مع التحقق من هذه المعلومات واستكمالها بالبيانات التي جمعتها شبكة أطباء المنظمة في سوريا والبلدان المجاورة. وقد استبعدت المنظمة من بياناتها أي حالة وفاة موثقة حددت بأنها لعامل طبي “غير مدني”، حيث يفقد العاملون الطبيون المشاركون في القتال وضع الحماية بموجب القانون الدولي الإنساني.

قام فريق البحث في أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان بجمع البيانات من مجموعة واسعة من المصادر المفتوحة، كتقارير الأمم المتحدة والحكومات والمنظمات غير الحكومية المحلية والدولية، ومصادر الأخبار المحلية والإقليمية والدولية، والمقالات الصحفية، ومنشورات فيسبوك والمدونات، وتغريدات تويتر، ومقاطع فيديو على يوتيوب. كما أجرت المنظمة مقابلات وتلقت معلومات وصوراً من أفراد ومنظمات معنية بتقديم الخدمات الطبية في سوريا والبلدان المجاورة التي يوجد فيها لاجئون. واستعرض محللون يتحدثون الإنكليزية والعربية المواد باللغتين الإنكليزية والعربية.

من آذار/مارس 2011 حتى تشرين الثاني / نوفمبر 2019، تحققت أطباء من أجل حقوق الإنسان من 588 هجوماً على 350 منشأة طبية منفصلة ووثقت مقتل 914 عاملاً طبياً. تحقق من خريطة الهجمات على المنشآت الطبية في سوريا.

يمول هذا المشروع جزئياً معهد العلاقات الخارجية (InstitutfürAuslandsbeziehungen) بموارد مقدمة من وزارة الخارجية الألمانية.

ResourcesMultimedia

Medical Personnel Are Targeted in Syria

This post is also available in: العربية

Medical professionals are often on the front lines in conflict situations, propping up civilian communities suffering from violence, abuse, and deprivation. Nowhere has this been truer than in Syria. But in a context where the targeting of civilians has played such a prominent role in the prosecution of the war, medical professionals have all too often been violently prevented from carrying out their duties through persecution, torture, and killings.

As first responders, medical personnel also see up close the wounds and evidence of violence and torture in their patients. Persecution of medical professionals is often part of oppressive governments’ intentional strategies of silencing these powerful witnesses.

PHR uses open source data and field sources to document the deaths of medical personnel killed in Syria since March 2011. PHR has assessed that the Syrian government and their Russian allies are responsible for 91 percent of the deaths of medical personnel throughout the conflict. Responsibility for the remaining nine percent lies with non-state armed groups, including ISIS, international coalition forces, Kurdish forces, or unidentified forces. The targeting of medical personnel is a violation of international humanitarian law (IHL), and those responsible must be held accountable. When medical workers are killed, the human toll is not just their lives, but also the exponential number of people who will suffer without treatment and the many lives that will be lost as a result.

  • 0

    Medical Professionals

    At least 912 medical professionals have been killed in Syria from 2011 through August 2019.

  • 0%

    Personnel Deaths

    PHR has assessed that at least 91% of medical personnel killings were committed by Syrian government forces and their Russian allies.

Cumulative Deaths of Medical Personnel

Throughout the conflict in Syria, the Syrian government has systematically targeted medical facilities and personnel, killing doctors, nurses, and others as they care for the sick and injured in hospitals, clinics, and in the field. Health professionals have also been arrested, disappeared, imprisoned, tortured, and executed – often for upholding their professional commitment to treat all patients, regardless of political affiliation. PHR has documented the deaths of 912 medical personnel from the start of the conflict in 2011 through August 2019.

Medical Personnel Deaths Over Time

The beginning of the conflict was characterized by widespread killings of medical professionals, with 190 killed in 2012 alone. The highest number of killings occurred during the first four years, through shelling, aerial attacks, small arms fire, and the kidnapping and detention of medical workers that often resulted in death through torture or execution. In 2015 in Aleppo, it was reported that over 95 percent of the city’s doctors had fled, been detained, or been killed.

The dip in deaths of medical personnel after 2015 does not necessarily indicate a decrease in the intensity of the conflict, but rather likely reflects a decrease in the total number of medical professionals still in the country.

PHR recognizes that it cannot know of, let alone corroborate, all attacks on medical personnel. This is illustrated by the fact that the Syrian government continues to release lists of civilians who died in Syrian custody, pointing to the fact that there are potentially many more medical professionals who may have died in detention but whose deaths have not yet been made public.

The territorial gains of Syrian government forces since the spring of 2018 has meant a reduction in front lines, and fewer attacks on medical facilities. But even with the changing dynamics of the conflict, medical personnel continue to be targeted for a variety of reasons, including the perception that they are economically advantaged and can be held for ransom.

Medical Personnel Killed by Governorate

Aleppo, Idlib, and Rif Dimashq represent the governorates with the highest recorded death rates of medical personnel. Spikes in the number of medical personnel killed tend to coincide with major Syrian government offensives in these governorates. 

For example, Aleppo was relentlessly targeted with barrel bombs from 2013 to 2015. In 2016, the Syrian government launched a military campaign to control the city, and by December 22, 2016 it had declared the city “liberated.” The number of medical personnel killed there dropped from 29 in 2016 to five in 2017 to one in 2018, and rose again to 20 in 2019. 

Similarly, in Rif Dimashq, the governorate surrounding Damascus, the Syrian government had been on the offensive since 2013. In April 2018, government forces regained full control over the suburb of eastern Ghouta after a brutal military campaign that killed 20 medical personnel in less than four months. Since then, the number of killed health workers has decreased. 

In Idlib, the last rebel enclave in Syria, 77 medical personnel have been killed since 2012. The number increased significantly after 2014, when the Syrian government intensified its military action against various rebel groups who control the majority of Idlib’s countryside. 

The Numbers Don't Lie

  • 0

    Of 910 medical personnel killed in the Syrian conflict, 265 were doctors

  • 0%

    Of medical personnel were killed in aerial attacks or shelling

  • 0

    Medical professionals were either kidnapped or detained, and subsequently killed

  • 0%

    Of all killings took place between 2012 and 2014

Death of Medical Personnel by Profession

PHR’s definition of “medical personnel” includes doctors, nurses, paramedics, pharmacists, dentists, veterinarians, lab technicians, and health professional students. They must be civilians to be included in our dataset, as medical workers engaged in combat lose protected status under IHL. As this graph shows, the most affected medical professionals are doctors and nurses, followed closely by paramedics. We chose to include nontraditional medical categories such as veterinarians, dentists, and students because we have received credible reports that these personnel often treat patients due to the lack of licensed physicians and nurses in many localities. The Syrian conflict forced many untrained and under-qualified civilians to step up and take on life-saving roles. The variety of medical professionals killed across the board points to the systematic destruction of the medical sector and the depletion of medical skills and services.

Cause of Death of Medical Personnel

The largest causes of death of medical personnel are aerial bombardment, shelling, and small arms fire. These attacks can be deliberate or indiscriminate, both of which are violations of IHL when directed at medical facilities. As a result of such systematic attacks, many medical professionals died in the line of duty. Many others died after being detained and then tortured and executed. Due to restrictions in access and limited information, this number is likely to be larger and may continue to increase as families learn that their loved ones died in prisons. In addition, there are many medical professionals who are believed to be alive in detention facilities. These detentions, as well as the concealment of the fate of those who were killed, are gross violations of human rights and humanitarian law.

For Medical Workers in Syria, Impossible Circumstances

For doctors, working in Syria is a triumph of will and determination over impossible conditions. They have been tortured, kidnapped, shot, and shelled. Many have fled while others have stayed behind, placing the lives of their patients ahead of their own. “The obstacles were everywhere,” said Dr. Rami Kalazi, a neurosurgeon who worked in eastern Aleppo city until the summer of 2016. “Massive bombardment everywhere, direct targeting of health facilities, a huge shortage of medical equipment and supplies, especially modern diagnostic devices, a demand for ambulances, a huge lack of medicines, a huge gap in medical experts, very few well-equipped ICUs, few beds in ICUs and wards – besides the enormous number of casualties. Could you imagine the circumstances that physicians in Syria are working under?”

Doctors in the Crosshairs

On March 22, 2011, government forces entered Daraa National Hospital, cleared it of non-essential staff, and positioned snipers on the roof. The snipers remained for two years, firing at the sick and wounded to ensure that only government supporters could enter the hospital. On April 8, a nurse trying to rescue an injured person was shot and killed by government forces in Daraa city. This was just the beginning of the government’s brutal and ongoing campaign of deliberate attacks on medical personnel and facilities as a weapon of war. Read more.

Learning Surgery as the Bombs Fall

In the Syrian government’s relentless assault on health care, nowhere was hit as hard as Aleppo. By the time the city fell to government forces in December 2016, more than two-thirds of the hospitals no longer functioned and roughly 95 percent of doctors had fled, been detained, or killed. Amidst this acute shortage of medical personnel, physicians had to learn to perform new operations on the spot. Dr. K, a dentist who was never trained in maxillofacial surgery, was the only doctor available one day to operate on a patient whose jaw was completely destroyed by a sniper shot. “I had to do deep sutures of the muscle, which was my first time, so I learned by doing that. I closed the patient and hoped that I had done a good job,” he said. Read more.

Timeline

Dec 2011

Syrian conflict targets health care

PHR publishes “Syria: Attacks on Doctors, Patients, and Hospitals,” showing that the Syrian government is attacking medical facilities and targeting doctors for treating wounded civilians.

Mar 2015

Doctors in the Crosshairs

PHR reports on how the Syrian government is using attacks on medical workers and facilities as a weapon of war. Read more.

Nov 2015

Stop Attacks on Doctors in Syria

PHR stages a Die-In near the United Nations in New York to protest attacks on medical care in Syria.

Nov 2015

Aleppo Abandoned

PHR’s report reveals that government attacks have devastated health care in Aleppo, where two thirds of hospitals have been put out of service and 95 percent of doctors have fled, been detained, or killed. Read more.

Mar 2016

No Peace without Justice in Syria

On the fifth anniversary of the Syria conflict, PHR’s report demands accountability for the Syrian government for war crimes and crimes against humanity. Read more.

May 2016

Honoring Courageous Syrian Doctors

At our annual gala, PHR honors Dr. Lena and Dr. Nour, Syrian physicians who have risked their lives to provide medical care in Syria and to document human rights abuses. Read more.

Jul 2016

Portrait of a Syrian Town Under Siege

PHR’s report show the devastating toll of the Syrian government’s year-long siege of Madaya, which killed at least 86 people by starvation, disease, and traumatic injury, and left just two dentistry students and a veterinarian caring for the town’s 40,000 residents. Read more.

Mar 2017

Access Denied

PHR’s report highlights how the Syrian government is deliberately and illegally stopping critical aid from reaching millions of people trapped in the country’s besieged and hard-to-reach places. Read more.

Apr 2017

A Deadly Chemical Weapons Attack

CNN’s Christiane Amanpour interviews PHR after our experts identified a probable chemical weapons attack on the town Khan Sheikhoun which killed nearly 100 people, many of them children.

Mar 2018

Beyond Imagination: Seven Years of Conflict in Syria

With nearly half a million lives lost and Syria’s health system crippled, PHR renews its call for an end to relentless attacks on civilians and civilian targets. Read more.

Conclusion

After eight years of death and destruction, the kinetic dynamics of the Syrian conflict are beginning to shift as the Syrian government regains territory. As of mid-2019, approximately 12 million people across Syria required health assistance. Many of the health facilities impacted by the conflict remain non-functional. The flight, death, or continued detention of large numbers of health professionals only add to the crippled condition of Syria’s health care system. Addressing the impact of the targeting of health care must begin with justice and accountability for these documented violations of human rights and IHL. Justice must be delivered for medical personnel who were targeted and killed for upholding their civic and moral duty and for those who remain in detention or who have fled Syria and remain too afraid of reprisal to return to their homes and country. 

PHR Methodology for Collection of Data on Attacks on Medical Personnel

PHR utilized open-source data and field sources to document the killing of medical personnel in Syria since March 2011. PHR drew primarily upon the Violations Documentation Center of Syria’s (VDC) English-language website, media accounts, and social media, corroborating and supplementing this information with data gathered from PHR’s network of physicians in and surrounding Syria. PHR chose to exclude from our data set any documented death identified as a “non-civilian” medical worker, as medical workers engaged in combat lose protected status under IHL.

PHR’s research team collected data from a wide variety of open sources, including United Nations, government, and local and international NGO reports; local, regional, and international news sources; journal articles; Facebook and blog posts; Twitter feeds; and YouTube videos. PHR also conducted interviews and received information and photographs from individuals and organizations involved in providing medical services in Syria and neighboring countries with refugee populations. PHR’s English- and Arabic-speaking analysts reviewed materials in both English and Arabic.

From March 2011 through August 2019, PHR corroborated 583 attacks on 350 separate medical facilities and documented the killing of 912 medical personnel. Check out our map of attacks on medical facilities in Syria.

This project is funded in part by ifa (Institut für Auslandsbeziehungen) with resources provided by the German Federal Foreign Office.